Intro to Oral History
This is the "Global Health" page of the "Public Policy Institute Resources " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The links below provide lists of think tank reports, organizations and datasets relevant to each topic listed in the tab.
Last Updated: Oct 17, 2016 URL: http://gds.libguides.com/publicpolicyinstitute Print Guide RSS Updates

Global Health Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Highlighted Resources

World Health Organization (WHO) - Data and Analysis  - broad scope of data covering most countries and most global health topics, such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, tuberculosis, etc. Interactive graphs, country statistics, available. Searchable by topic, region and indicator. 

Global Health - McGill University  

Wikisite from McGill University that pulls together many global health links, from scholarly articles, to news to datasets. Mostly open-access, although a few restricted to McGill users only (clearly marked). 

The Lancet (Global Health) 

A collection of global health-related articles, blogs, commentaries and podcasts. Organized first by region, then by topic. Global Health collection is online-only and mostly open access. 

 

Global Health Statistics

  • UN Data
    Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism.
  • World Bank Open Data
    Provides download access to over 2000 indicators from the World Bank data sets including World Development Indicators.
  • Demographic and Health Surveys
    The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 260 surveys in over 90 countries.
  • Gender Info 2010, United Nations
    A global database of gender statistics and indicators on a wide range of policy areas, including: population, families, health, education, work, and political participation. Created by the United Nations Statistics Division in partnership with UNICEF and UN Population Fund.
  • Millenium Development Goals - Statistics
    The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest.
  • MDG Info 2011
    This database system is designed for the compilation and presentation of development indicators to support data users in the monitoring of the Millennium Development Goals. The MDG goals and targets are imbedded in the system linked to the MDG indicators in a goal monitoring framework.
  • World Health Organization - Databases & Statistics
    Reports and analysis on global health based on WHO and World Bank data. 
  • HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map
    Brings together several data sources on current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location on global and regional maps.
  • OECD iLibrary - Statistics
    Contains datasets released by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, International Energy Agency, Nuclear Energy Agency, OECD Development Centre, and additional sources. There are 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points. UM users only.
  • FAOSTAT
    FAOSTAT, the statistical database of the UN Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is now available free. FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for 200 countries.

Visualizing Global Data

World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
An interactive data visualization tool that maps and graphs more than 175 indicators and allows users to to compare data over time.

World Bank eAtlas of Gender
  • An interactive data visualization tool that allows you to view, map and graph dozens of gender indicators over time and across countries.
STATcompiler (beta)
  • Allows users to visualize and explore data in custom tables, column charts, line graphs, maps, and scatterplots on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries. .
Google Public Data Explorer
  • Google Labs' Public Data Explorer makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand.
Gapminder: for a fact-based world view
  • Uses software to display various statistics about global indicators and world's countries.
Guttmacher Data
  • State, National and Global SRH data.

Apps for Development - World Bank
  • The World Bank has challenged the public to create innovative software applications that move us a step closer toward solving some of the world's most pressing problems. Take a look at some of the submissions and see the winning apps!

Data Visualization - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
  • Data freely and easily accessible and to provide innovate ways to visualize complex global topics.
Maps & Data - Commonwealth Fund
  • Allows you to create your own collections of Commonwealth Fund charts. Maps and data sources are both international and US-focused.
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip